The Maritime Standard Awards showcase regional quality and achievement - TMS AwardsTMS Awards
Patronage Message

Under the patronage of H. H. Sheikh Ahmed Bin Saeed Al Maktoum

President, Dubai Civil Aviation Authority; Chairman & CEO, Emirates; Chairman, Dubai Airports.

Endorsed by:
Logo - Federal Transport Authority, Abu Dhabi
News / Full Story

The fourth annual The Maritime Standard Awards, held on Monday 23rd October 2017 at the iconic Atlantis Ballroom, on The Palm, set a new standard for regional awards ceremonies, with exceptional levels of grandeur, glamour and professionalism. Hosted by well-known Bollywood actress and model, Lara Dutta, the Awards attracted a top calibre audience of over 700 executives from across the shipping, ports and related sectors, from almost 70 different countries.

The high profile event, held under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Ahmed Bin Saeed Al Maktoum, President, Dubai Civil Aviation Authority and Chairman and Chief Executive, Emirates Airline and Group, celebrated and rewarded the achievements of leading companies and individuals active in maritime fields in the Middle East and Indian Subcontinent.

The Maritime Standard Awards founder and managing director, Trevor Pereira, said: “We were once again tremendously honoured that His Highness has supported the awards. Having the backing of such an esteemed figure shows how well recognised the TMS Awards are, and how the importance of the industry is appreciated, at the highest level.”

The Awards demonstrated that the region’s ports and shipping sector is one that continues to show innovation, creativity and a determination to succeed in uncertain times. Moreover it leads the way especially in areas such as environmental protection, corporate social responsibility and security.

In total 29 awards were presented to individuals and companies following the deliberations of the judging panel. Clive Woodbridge, editor of TMS and chairman of the judges, said, “This year we received an all-time record number of nominations, of the highest quality. All the judges were impressed by the standard of entries. It is evident that maritime companies in the region are not sitting back – they are being innovative and proactive. It was difficult to select the winners, and as a result not just those who picked up an award, but all of those who were shortlisted, can be justifiably proud of their achievements over the past year.”

In addition to the awards determined by the judging panel, there were a number of special awards presented by the TMS team for particularly impressive individual achievements. The Maritime Standard Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Sudhir Rangnekar, of Oman Shipping Company; The Hall of Fame Award was given to H.E. Sheikh Talal Al Khaled Al Sabah, chief executive of Kuwait Oil Tanker Company; The Personality of the Year Award went to DP World’s Mohammed Al Muallem; and the Editor’s Choice Award was presented to Richard Briggs, executive partner, Hadef & Partners.

Other awards selected by The Maritime Standard included June Manoharan, managing director of Lukoil Marine, who was the recipient of the Woman in Shipping award, and Amir Hossein Mosadeghi, of Islamic P&I Club, who was named Young Person in Shipping. Omar Abu Omar of Gulf Navigation won the Excellence in Shipping Award and the winners of the Deal of the Year were Abu Dhabi Ports and JOCIC of China for their Musataha agreement.

Trevor Pereira added, “It was a fantastic night of celebration, that showcased the tremendous achievements and progress that is being made in the region. On top of that we raised the bar still higher as far as awards ceremonies go. Once again we showed that we deliver the biggest and best Awards for the maritime sector in the region, which is what the industry deserves.”


The full list of the Award winners are as follows:

Safety and Security Award
Oman Ship Management Company

Environment Protection Award
Kuwait Oil Company

The Green Shipping Award
ADNOC Logistics & Services

The Technology/Innovation Award
MAP Marine Technologies

The Corporate Social Responsibility Award
Abu Dhabi Ship Building

Shipyard/ ship repair Facility of the Year Award
Drydocks World Dubai

The Maritime Education and Training Award
Shipping Corporation of India – Maritime Training Institute

Marine Broker of the Year Award
McQuilling Shipping Services DMCC

Marine Crewing and Manning Award
Liberty Manning Services Limited

Maritime Security Award
Al Safina Security

Passenger Ship, Leisure Craft and Yacht builder of the Year
Gulf Craft

Marine Insurer of the Year
General Insurance Corporation of India

Ship Manager of the Year
Bahri Ship Management

Ship Agency of the Year

Tanker Operator of the Year Award
Kuwait Oil Tanker Company

Ship Owner/ Operator of the Year

Classification Society of the Year

Terminal Operator of the Year
DP World UAE Region

Port of the Year
Abu Dhabi Ports

Shipping Company of the Year

Deal of the Year
Abu Dhabi Ports

The Maritime Standard Young Person in Shipping
Amir Mosadeghi

The Maritime Standard Woman in Shipping Award
June Manoharan

The Maritime Standard Excellence in Shipping
Omar Abu Omar

The Maritime Standard Editor’s Choice
Richard Briggs

The Maritime Standard Outstanding Achievement Award
H.E. Dr. Abdullah Salem Alkatheeri

The Maritime Standard Personality of the Year Award
Mohammed Al Muallem

The Maritime Standard Lifetime Achievement Award
Sudhir Rangnekar

The Maritime Standard Hall of Fame Award
H.E. Sheikh Talal Al Khaled Al Sabah

Press Release

Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2024 Flagship Events LLC. All rights reserved.
Event Managed By Flagship Events LLC