Nominations now open for The Maritime Standard Awards, judges also announced - TMS AwardsTMS Awards
Patronage Message

Under the patronage of H. H. Sheikh Ahmed Bin Saeed Al Maktoum

President, Dubai Civil Aviation Authority; Chairman & CEO, Emirates; Chairman, Dubai Airports.

Endorsed by:
Logo - Federal Transport Authority, Abu Dhabi
News / Full Story

Nominations are now open for The Maritime Standard Awards 2018, which will take place at Atlantis The Palm, Dubai on Monday, October 15th. The event will be a glittering, high quality occasion with key decision makers from across the Middle East and the Indian Subcontinent in attendance.

This is the fifth time that the Awards have been organised by The Maritime Standard to recognise industry achievements and celebrate success. There will be around 28 different awards presented on the night, the majority of which will be selected by an eminent panel of independent judges. A full list of categories, and how to enter, can be found on the website

Nominations are invited from across the region, including both the Middle East and the Indian Subcontinent. Clive Woodbridge, Editor of The Maritime Standard, and Chairman of the judging panel says, “Last year a record number of nominations were received, and all the entries were of a very high standard. It was a hard job separating out the winners and we expect similarly tough competition for these awards for 2018 as well.”

TMS Awards judging panel comprises of renowned experts in their fields with many years of experience in shipping, ports, shipbuilding and repair and other areas of the maritime industry. These judges are drawn from across the region and independently assess the nominations and submit marks based on predetermined criteria to ensure a transparent and fair process.

This year The Maritime Standard is pleased to confirm that the judges will comprise: Clive Woodbridge, Editor, The Maritime Standard; Abdullah Bin Damithan, Chief Commercial Officer, DP World; Abdulkareem Al Masabi, Chief Executive, ADNOC Logistics & Services; Ali Shehab, Deputy CEO, Kuwait Oil Tanker Company (KOTC); Angus Frew, Secretary General & Chief Executive, BIMCO; Capt. Anoop Kumar Sharma, Chairman and Managing Director, The Shipping Corporation of India; Capt. David Stockley, Chief Operating Officer (COO) Oman Shipping Company; Capt. Jitendra Misra, Managing Director, Emarat Maritime; Dr. Mustafa Massad, Jordan Academy for Maritime Studies; Capt. S.R. Patnaik, Director and Chief Executive Officer, International Shipping and Logistics; Ruwan Waidyaratne, Chairman of CASA and Managing Director of Hayley’s Advantis Limited; and Eng. Sherine El Naggar, Chairman, AK Naggar Group.

The judges have welcomed the clear guidance given to potential nominees, available through the website, which provides a clear framework for judging. Abdulkareem Al Masabi, says, “The nomination criteria for each award category is very comprehensive. This is important as it ensures that entrants are well guided through the process.”

Some words of advice also come from Capt. Anoop Kumar Sharma. He says, “Change, innovation and adaptation are a must for survival under difficult conditions. I am looking forward to seeing entries that have effectively employed change and innovation to not just survive, but progress as well.”

The deadline for submitting nominations is 10th August 2018. “All the evidence shows that putting the maximum amount of preparation time into delivering a high quality and comprehensive nomination is vital in enhancing the chances of securing an Award. So the sooner companies start the nomination process the better,” says, Clive Woodbridge. He adds, “We have opened the nominations process in good time, but there is not a moment to waste!”

For more information about the Awards and how to nominate, please visit our website:

Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2024 Flagship Events LLC. All rights reserved.
Event Managed By Flagship Events LLC